How to Delete Your Social Network Accounts Completely
If you want to disconnect yourself from social network accounts, this can be quite a task. Being inactive on social media sites is not enough to delete your accounts; most if not all social media sites keep your data on hand in case you want to reactivate your account and for advertising purposes. If they see that most of their current and past members are of a particular age group and gender, their ads will target those groups. If they see they have more current and former members in one area but few in another, they may target more ads to the location with fewer members.
This means that getting rid of your account completely on social media sites will take some effort on your part. Even when you technically delete or deactivate your account, they will still keep your information for months if not even years, or indefinitely. You can go through the steps needed on Facebook and Twitter and other social media sites to close your account, but the information will still be there.
Contacting the websites and telling them to delete your information for good can also help, but often when you sign up and agree to the terms and conditions of the site, it will say in that agreement that they can keep your information indefinitely. Often writing to them will do little good as they may close your account but will not actually delete and deactivate all your information. They may have the right to keep your email address and all your other personal information on file, even though your account is no longer active and not viewable on their sites.
If you are deactivating your accounts because you want to start new ones under different names or user names, it is best to get new email addresses with which you can do this. Most social media sites are not concerned with IP addresses but with email addresses, so you can open a new Facebook page or Twitter account with a different email than you were using before, and the two accounts will not be connected in any way.
Some websites promise to delete your accounts for you; www.deletemyaccount.com says that they can permanently delete all your social media sites, but often results are spotty and they may not do much more for you than you can do on your own. Other automated deleting accounts such as www.socialmediasuicide.com have been blocked by sites like Facebook and MySpace. You can try to use these various types of accounts but you may not have much success. Your best option is to delete the account yourself and let it go dormant because of inactivity.